Skip to main content

Dr. K. C. Whittaker Endowment Fund: A Legacy of Empowering Female Physics Students at KNUST

Fri 18 Aug 2023

In a bid to promote and support female education in the field of Physics, the esteemed Dr. K C Whittaker Endowment Fund has been making significant strides at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST). The fund, which was established on December 12th, 1997, in accordance with the wishes of the late Mrs. Rose Adwoa Whittaker, has consistently demonstrated its commitment to fostering women's participation in the realm of science.

DR. K. C WHITTAKER ENDOWMENT FUNDThe Head of the Department of Physics at KNUST, Prof. Reuben Y. Tamakloe, recently provided a comprehensive overview of the Dr. K C Whittaker Endowment Fund's objectives and achievements. Speaking at a formal gathering, Prof. Tamakloe highlighted that the primary aim of the fund is to inspire and empower female students pursuing physics courses. He elaborated on how the initiative initially focused on two brilliant female physics students, aiming to stimulate interest among their peers. Over time, as female enrollment in the department increased significantly, the eligibility criteria for the award evolved. Currently, the award is granted to female students with a Cumulative Weighted Average (CWA) of 60 and above.

Prof. R Y Tamakloe

Prof. Tamakloe announced that the number of beneficiaries has grown from its initial count to seventeen recipients, each receiving an increased monetary reward of GH¢2,500. He emphasized that the fund's impact has been profound, not only in terms of financial support but also in cultivating a stronger presence of women in the physics department.

Prof. Osei AkotoIn acknowledgement of the transformative impact, Professor Osei Akoto, Dean of the Faculty of Physical and Computational Sciences, extended heartfelt gratitude to the trustees. He underscored the fund's role in igniting the passion for science, particularly physics, among young women. In the face of challenges ahead, the Dean's hope is that this support will continue to shine, fostering a bright future for students and nurturing the bond between the fund and the faculty.

WittakerThe Secretary of the Dr. K. C. Whittaker Endowment Fund, in a reflective tone, delved into the fund's history. The endowment fund was established on December 12, 1997, in accordance with the late Mrs. Rose Adwoa Whittaker's will. A dedicated philanthropist, Auntie Rose's vision was to enhance female education in physics in Ghana. The fund has since then granted scholarships to over 200 female students, embodying Auntie Rose's commitment to education and empowerment.

WittakerThe recent awardees of the Dr. K C Whittaker Endowment Fund were celebrated for their exceptional achievements. Notable among them were Ms. Matilda Kweistu, Ms. Maxine Ama Vroom, Ms. Mavis Appiah, Ms. Joyce Coffie, Ms. Charity Quaye Arhin, Ms. Wilhemina Sharon Jones, Ms. Felicity Ayivor, Ms. Esther Arkoh Nelsson, Ms. Faustina Awufa, Ms. Lawrencia Oberko, Ms. Mercy Bartuah, Ms. Amanda Ginika Ani, Ms. Carolina Abasitewen Afulang, Ms. Priscilla Agyei, Ms. Janet Sarfo, Ms. Matilda Gyamfi, and Abandoh Azumah (Postgraduate Student - PhD).

Abandoh Azumah, the PhD Postgraduate Student, expressed her gratitude to the trustees and authorities. She also thanked the trustees for implementing her submissions made the previous year, suggesting that the award be extended to postgraduate students.

Provost, Prof. Leonard Amekudzi

The Chairman and Provost of the College of Science, Prof. Leonard Amekudzi, concluded the event with remarks highlighting the significance of such awards in inspiring academic excellence. He encouraged awardees to continue striving for excellence and contribute positively to society. Prof. Amekudzi further highlighted that some past awardees have achieved notable positions in the field of physics and meteorology globally and announced plans to present a comprehensive report on the beneficiaries' progress to the trustees.